jump to navigation

2010’s Top 10 Countdown January 29, 2011

Posted by jlhawkinson in Technology and Business.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The following were the most popular EdTech topics that were blogged about in 2010.  Some of these I remember reading about and others were before I took the time to read the EdTech blog, so I was thankful that someone at EdTech took the time to compile this list.

#10:  How to Use QR Codes in Student Projects:  With the technology we have today, we are able to simply scan a barcode and pull up information on a product just by using our cell phones.  I love my barcode scanner on my Droid Pro 2.    So, how about using that in the classroom to provide more information on student projects or newsletters to parents or assignments to help students find the information.  The author of the post uses bit.ly to create the barcodes.  I signed up for an account with bit.ly and created a short link for this Blog.  Very NICE!

My Blog Barcode

My Blog Barcode

#9:  6 Ways to Use Word Clouds in the Classroom (Video):  In this video Dave Dodgson, English as a Second Language teacher, describes how he uses Wordle in his classroom as a teaching tool.  One of the applications for Wordle that he uses that I thought would work in practically any classroom is using it to introduce a new topic.  He puts the text in Wordle to create his word cloud and students look at the words to try to figure out what the reading is going to focus on.  And I learned something new.  He said you could put a URL into Wordle and it will create a word cloud from the words on that website.  What a great way to create a word cloud for a class Wiki or Blog.

My Blog's Wordle

My Blog's Wordle

#8:  How to Use Flickr in Your Classroom:  The author of this post says Flickr can be an excellent resource in the classroom.  What about a field trip to Rome or Japan?  You can do that with Flickr.  You can teach about “intellectual property rights with Creative Commons licensing” (yep, took that straight from the author).  Your students can put together a portfolio, can choose a photo and write a creative story about that photo, and so much more.  (Now some of you will find that Flickr is blocked at your school, but maybe you can sweet talk your Tech people into unblocking it if you can show them how educational it can be.

#7:  5 Free iPhone Apps for the Classroom:  Well I don’t have an iPhone yet and not quite sure if I will make that transition since I just got a Motorola Droid Pro and LOVE it.  But most of the iPhone Apps are available for the iPod Touch, so I like to see what new Apps the classrooms are using these days.  WordPress is one (woohoo! especially since this blog is through WordPress!!  I’m on the go, see something I want to blog about but know I will forget about later, then I can blog instantly using my iPod Touch if there is Internet access around.  Thank goodness I have an Internet Wireless card that has not let me down yet!  The next is iFlashCards.  Digital flashcards that can be carried around anywhere you take your iPhone or iPod or iPad!  Students can create and edit the cards, then set five different study modes.  Fluent News Reader is the third app.  It pools the top stories from different major news services such as CNN, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, etc.  Then once they are downloaded, they can be viewed offline.  Dropbox 1.2.5 is the next and I have to say I love my Dropbox account!  This app is accessible on your computer (Mac or Windows), iPod, or phone (and not just the iPhone as I use this with my Droid Pro).  You start off with 2 GB of file storage that can be accessed from any computer any time.  You just drop whatever documents you want to have available and when you go to another computer, open up your Dropbox and viola, your files are ready for you to use again.  Much easier to transport than a flashdrive and I don’t have to worry about losing it.  And if you get others to sign up using a special code assigned to you, you get additional 250 MB of storage per person that registers.  The final app is Dragon Dictation 2.0.0.  This app will allow you to dictate notes then e-mail or text them.  Just dictate for one minute at a time and send them out.  Many uses for a teacher.  Not just a great teacher tool, but a great TEACHING tool.  Imagine using this in class for students to take notes, or to record an assignment, or much more!

#6:  How to Transform Your Classroom Using Web 2.0 Tools:  This blog post discussed 10 educational tools that enhances lesson plans and helps make learning more fun not only for the students, but for the teachers also.  Instead of me talking about each one, I am just going to list them and let you check out the original post.  The tools are:  Glogster, Skype, Storybird, Wordle, Bib.me, Diigo, KidBlog, Kideos & SchoolWax TV,  and DoInk.  I think I will have to share the DoInk site with my Digital Arts students this next week!

#5:  5 Fantastic Ways to Use Wallwisher in the Classroom:  First of all, Wallwisher is an online collaboration tool that lets people share ideas, resources, and thoughts on a particular topic.  You can sign up for a free account, build your wall, enter your topic, specify your Wallwisher URL, share the link, and collaborate!  Oh, if only curriculum meetings were that easy!!!  This post goes on to list five ways to use it in the classroom.  My favorite were writing activities, speaking activities, and notifications.  Check it out if you want to read more!

#4:  7 Reasons Why I Love Evernote & Why You Should Too!Evernotegives everyone the ability to easily capture any moment, idea, inspiration, or experience whenever they want using whichever device or platform they find most convenience, and them make all of that information easy to find.” So according to the author, you can create notes and to-do lists, create a scrollable image of the webpage (better than a bookmark??), snap a photo, share it, and sync everything.  And best of all, it’s FREE!

#3:  5 Useful Webtools You Didn’t Know Exist:  So, here are some tools that maybe you haven’t heard of yet.  I will list them and give a brief description.

  • Typewith.me:  Collaborate with others in real-time on a document (kind of like Google Docs but you can chat also)
  • ViewPure.com:  Get rid of advertisements and comments on a YouTube video so you know you are showing ONLY the video to your class.
  • TubeChop.com:  This one allows you to enter a YouTube URL and select only the part of the video you want to show.  When you are finished selecting the time, it gives you the link and embed code for the cropped video!  I love this one!
  • Whenisgood.net:  This could make scheduling a meeting so much easier (wish I had this during our time at Full Sail).  This lets you select the times when you are available then e-mail via a link to those you are trying to schedule with so they can choose when they are free also!
  • Fur.ly:  Another URL shortener for us.  This one seems to provide an easy-t0-use navigation for all your URLS at the top of the page when you go to one of the URLS through Fur.ly.  Might be interesting to try.

#2:  8 Google Tricks for Your Classroom:  I’m not going to go into a lot of detail about these 8 tricks.  Several of these we have probably used weekly, while the others we have probably used at some point or another.  But check out the post and see if you learn something new. 🙂

#1:  21 Signs You’re a 21st Century Teacher:  Let me just say that I am a 21st Century Teacher.  Are you?

Now that I have practically written a book instead of a post.   I hope you have at least learned five new things.  Nope, not just one, but five.  Hey, there is a lot of information here and you should have picked up on five things you didn’t already know. 🙂  Even if one of those is that I am not only long winded in person, but also in my blog!  🙂  Enjoy!

Comments»

1. ebooks for kindle - January 31, 2011

Thanks for the info. you are very helpful.


Leave a Reply

