jump to navigation

Blackberry Phones December 7, 2010

Posted by jlhawkinson in Technology and Business.
trackback

I have used Blackberry phones for almost two years now.  I do love my Blackberry Tour, but it has some quirks I just can’t seem to get past.

Since installing the last update in November, it has locked up on me at least once a day.  So at least once a day, I remove the battery to perform a reset.  Ohhh, what fun.  The Verizon guys told me to back up all my data on the phone to my computer and perform a Security Wipe.  So I did that and, while it helped some, I am still removing the battery at least once a day.  This is most annoying.  And I can’t see it being healthy for my phone either.

The trackball has started sticking which doesn’t make me happy in the least.  I know this is a common problem because it happen to my son’s earlier in the year after having his for only 6 months.  Because he had dropped his phone and it had dents in the upper corners, the warranty was void.  Picky people.  And I wasn’t about to pay the $90 for the insurance deductible.  So we purchased a simple, non-smart phone for him as a replacement.  I take care of mine so I was hoping to avoid the trackball issue altogether.  No luck.

I do like that I can open file attachments from e-mails.  That is very helpful.  Unfortunately, I am not always able to delete the files.  I try to delete them but then I get an error.  I don’t know if this is a common problem or just a situational problem.

The apps are great.  I use the Facebook app, well I used to.  Then the Facebook updates weren’t deleting.  I am thinking the smartphone is like all computers.  After a while, they slow down and become obsolete.  They don’t work correctly.

So my next decision is:  A new Blackberry or a new Droid……Time will tell….well one week will tell. 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment